Prepper Stories

Driving Education Greatness

4 Jacksonville teachers surprised with $15K Gladys Prior Career Teaching Excellence awards

4 Jacksonville teachers surprised with K Gladys Prior Career Teaching Excellence awards

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – 4 Jacksonville instructors were being acknowledged Wednesday for their instructing excellence and were being astonished with $15,000 each.

The University of North Florida Higher education of Schooling and Human Products and services astonished the four teachers with the 2022 Gladys Prior Awards for Career Educating Excellence.

The award arrives with $15,000, just one of the most significant monetary awards for instructors in the country.

The Gladys Prior Awards for Profession Teaching Excellence ended up recognized in 1998 by Gilchrist Berg, founder and president of Drinking water Road Funds, to honor teachers with lifelong careers in education and learning. Berg has provided more than $2 million to honor Jacksonville academics. The award is named immediately after Berg’s fourth-quality trainer at Ortega Elementary School, Gladys Prior.

The 2022 award winners are:

  • Meshellia Hughes, 3rd grade instructor from Andrew A. Robinson Elementary College

  • May Hotard, Globe Languages trainer from Bishop Kenny Substantial School

  • Crystal Parker, Language Arts teacher from Edward H. White Substantial School

  • Sara Henry, first grade trainer from Ruth N. Upson Elementary College

“I have generally required to educate,” Hotard said. “I don’t forget commencing out instructing and contemplating, they’re having to pay me to do this! so, it is just a calling.”


“I am surprised and overcome and so thrilled appropriate now,” Henry mentioned. “In my coronary heart of hearts, I’m pondering about all of the youngsters that I’ve taught and just imagining about all the items we can do for our school with this huge check!”

Each individual teacher was astonished in course with their principal and Dr. Diane Yendol-Hoppey, UNF COEHS dean.

Copyright 2022 by WJXT Information4Jax – All rights reserved.